Table based web design

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Table based web design

Fitz, in his usual in-ur-face style, plonked the following comment into a thread;

"fucking tables based web design. EEEEVIL."

Now I'd really like to know why he, and any of you, think this is a fair statement. While many forums discuss this topic over and over and over, I'd simply like to know what our guys have to say about it.

Some of you know that I've been a web designer/developer since finishing Uni. To this day, I cannot see any valid reason for making the transition to full CSS design.

The reason being, full CSS design is incredibly buggy with inconsistent results x-browser. Complex liquid layouts are simply destroyed by full CSS layouts and can even disrupt server-side applications from performing properly.

I have wasted many days of production trying to debug full CSS layouts. Mind you, I only do liquid layouts; so that makes page architecture far more complex than fixed designs. Designing in full CSS requires knowledge of current browser hacks, page rendering, the DOM and style inheritance. Without it, a designer can easily give up in frustration.

In every instance I've had to resort to table structures to loosely contain header, footer and content blocks. However I do adhere to complete separation of style from structure and valid html. Since all browsers do not render to standards, table based design is the only way to produce fast, consistent results without having to invest months in training for advanced CSS.

Full CSS is only suited to basic layouts or fixed position design. Beyond that the designer has to learn all the advanced CSS, hacks, and html DOM in order to get x-browser consistent results.

Tables work. Tables are fast. Tables are easy. Tables are cheaper to work with and will make you more money. If used with 100% standard html & CSS, they're also future proof.